Skip to content

Maltings Buildings

May 28, 2010

At the Left hand end of the layout, looking from the front I wanted to have some buildings to represent a Maltings, the centrepiece of which is the working wagon turntable and the wagon being pulled into the building through the opening doors. I have already described how this woks and now I have been working on the buildings.

The main building is based on Tuckers Maltings at Newton Abbott-;

          

A secondary warehouse will be a mix between part of the maltings and a warehouse on the quay at Exeter. I have experimented with manipulating photographs of the buildings to produce the brick and stonework for the model.

Initially I photographed the building trying to get as straight on to it as I could-;

Then using my art package, in this case I prefer Coral Paint Shop Pro, but others are available, I straightened the photo, cloned out cars and vans etc and then cut and pasted several sections to get the effect I wanted-;

I then roughly printed this out. It was then possible to measure the brick course on the quoins and from this get the scale of the picture. I then reduced the image by the required percentage to bring it to 3mm scale. This necessitated a few trial prints until I got it right. I had also taken photographs of the end of the building and did this in a similar way. The whole lot was then printed out on A4 size computer labels, cut out and applied to a sheet of card.

The window apertures together with the loading doors, were cut out and all the brick courses and the stonework was scored and embossed.

The window frames were now added using very thin card and then the vertical bars were added using cotton stiffened with PVA glue, as shown below;

Finally the building was folded up and the roof added. Slates are done using strips of embossed slate from Howards Scenics with the individual slates painted in watercolour. I get my inspiration and guide to mixing the colours from Chris Pilton’s great book on Modelling Cottages for Pendon.

Finally I added gutters and downpipes and then toned the whole building down using weathering powders.

The next stage is to set the buildings into the scene and do the detailing around them.

From → Buildings

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

