Skip to content

Fruit and Veg

October 26, 2010

As part of the detailing of the scene I will need some garden and allotment details. I am also doing a scenic tray for Pendon Museum. I previously built a pair of workers cottages for Cowleaze farm;-

and I am now installing it and modelling the gardens to go with it.

I initially had a long session of making the various vegetables. I have used methods taught to me by Malcolm Smith when working at Pendon and have also taken ideas from a very good article written in an early Model Railway Journal [no. 5] by Chris Pilton. I have also experimented and worked out my own ideas.

Lettuces, Cabbages and Cauliflowers

The basis of these is punched out coloured tissue paper. Acid free tissue paper is first painted, on both sides, with watercoulours in the various shades for different vegetables. A strip is then cut and folded over and over as much as possible. Using a leather punch a wadge of circles are punched out. These have to be extracted from the tip of the punch. Four slits were then cut in the circles and all the layers separated. To assemble the lettuce/cabbage a circle is put onto a soft rubber and a rounded off orange stick is used to push the circle into the rubber and this causes it to fold around the tip. This is then glued with a drop of PVA to a piece of thick card. A second piece is then glued to this one and a third if you want to. When dry the edges can be pulled in to form the heart. To make a cauliflower I mix some white scatter with chinese white paint and place a blob in the centre of the veg made with cabbage coloured paper. A batch of vegetables can be made on the card and then when dry can be sliced off and stuck down to the scene where required.

Potatoes

These are made from hemp and scatter material. I take a small bundle of hemp, put a little PVA on the end and then twist the glued bit. This is then cut with about 1cm of hemp bundle. Again a whole batch of these can be made in a session. The hemp bundle is then spread out and the dried end poked into some polystyrene. This is then repeated until a few rows have been made. I then spray the whole lot with matt varnish and sprinkle green scatter over the whole lot. I have collected various shades of green mainly from Green Scenes who are often seen at shows and have a web site and looking around shows I have attended.

When dry they can then be planted into holes in the prepared ground.

Onions

Again these are made from plumbers hemp. Take a length of a few strands and tie knots along the length. Seal the knot with a touch of PVA and when dry paint a suitable brown. The strands can be painted green at this stage. Now cut the knots in half and trim the strands to a suitable length. Each knot will give two onions. These can then be glued in place and the tops bent over depending on what season is being modelled.

Runner Beans

I have tried various methods for these but the best I have found is a more labour intensive way based on a method described by Chris Pilton. For my period I needed to have wood poles rather than bamboo. These I made from fine trimmings from a shrub in the garden, but I don’t know it’s name! These were glued into holes in the scene and the cross support added. When dry the frame was covered with well teased out green foliage fibre{supplied by Green Scenes]. Small triangles of green tissue paper were then suck to the foliage, more at the bottom than the top. Fine red scatter was then added to resemble the flowers and fixed by using firm fix, unscented hairspray.

In the foreground of these picture I have attempted to produce some Broad Beans using bristles from an old brush, coated with PVA and pushed into a light grey/green scatter. These were then ‘planted’ in double rows.

Finally plants like carrots, parsnips and turnips can be represented with rows of Woodland Scenics course scatter glued down in rows as only the green leaves will be visible.

One Comment
  1. Reblogged this on Nicks workshop mutterings and commented:

    I have started to produce the produce to go in the gardens of Cowleaze Farm. I have reblogged a description of how to do them from my other blog – Yeoton wharf

Leave a Reply

